The Laborance Certificate

Home » The Laborance Certificate

What do you know about the quality of an instrument when someone tells you “It’s a good instrument” ? Almost nothing, because the assessment “good” is completely subjective and whatever is “good” for someone can be completely unacceptable for you or your project. The same is true for many manufacturers’ promotional claims and slogans, because “powerful”, “precise”, “solid” and “high-quality” are terms without any standard.

We have developed the Laborance certificate to define a generally recognized standard for high quality in test and measurement technology. We certify the quality of the equipment (technology and assembly), the accessories and the correctness of the manufacturer’s specifications – so that you can be sure that you are getting exactly what you were promised.

You can download the complete documentation and certification guidelines for the Laborance certificate as a PDF file at the bottom of this page.

Which areas are covered by the Laborance Certificate ?

1. The certification is divided into four main areas: A, B, C, D

Area [A] – Technical

During the technical inspection, the inner components of the product are thoroughly examined. Among other things, attention is paid to clean mounting and assembly of the printed circuit boards, high-quality and correctly (long-life) sized components and the absence of obvious “predetermined breaking points”. In addition, certifications from the manufacturer and third parties (CE, FCC, RoHS, …) are verified and checked for plausibility.

Area [B] – Calibration

The product is calibrated by an external DAkkS calibration laboratory, confirming compliance with the parameters specified by the manufacturer in the data sheet.

Area [C] – Functional

During the functional test, the product is comprehensively checked for correct function.

Area [D] – Usability / Quality

During the quality and operating test, the exterior of the device is thoroughly checked for appropriate quality. This inspection includes, but is not limited to, all controls, monitors, covers, connectors and the
Housing of the device. The choice of material, the assembly, the seat, the operability and the reliability / longevity are checked. In addition (if applicable) the software and firmware of the product are checked for function and compatibility with the operating systems and languages specified by the manufacturer.

2. Test Type

The test can be carried out across models (linked to the respective model series) [2] or product-bound (bound to the serial number) [1] in each area. The examination type is always specified with the corresponding examination area: A1 / A2, B1 / B2, C1 / C2

3. Übersicht Bereiche und Prüfungstypen des Laborance Zertifikats

Laborance CertificateArea Test Type (See Point 2)
Area A1
Area B2
Area C1
Area D1

Laborance Certification Guidelines (DE)